Back to All Events

Vermont Sports Hall of Fame

Vermont Sports Hall of Fame Announces Its Class of 2018

COLCHESTER, Vt. — Olympians, basketball stars, an auto racing legend, football and ice hockey record-setters, coaching greats and a chronicler of Green Mountain sports are the 13 newest members of the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame. The VSHOF Board of Directors announced its sixth class of inductees on January 9, 2019 at the Tarrant Center on the campus of Saint Michael’s College.

The inductees include: World Cup champion and Olympic moguls skier Ann Battelle; state and NCAA hockey championship coach Bill Beaney; softball standout and pro baseball player Elizabeth Burnham; four-time Olympic Nordic skier Larry Damon; stock car driver Harmon ‘Beaver’ Dragon; field hockey star Jenny Everett; football and track star Jeff Hughes; basketball legends Layne Higgs and Rich Tarrant; Olympic Gold Medalist snowboarder Ross Powers; record-setting state amateur golfer Holly Reynolds; and Olympic alpine skier Tiger Shaw. The late Mal Boright, a legendary journalist and a founder of the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame, was selected by the hall’s board of directors as its David Hakins Inductee.

The seventh Hall of Fame Class will be formally inducted on April 13, 2019 at the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner and Celebration to be held at Trader Duke’s Hotel in South Burlington. The presenting sponsor of the annual event is Casella Resource Systems.

Proceeds from the event go to Prevent Child Abuse Vermont, the designated charity of the Vermont Sports Hall of Fame. The first six dinners and events have raised close to $20,000 to PCAVT. Last year's dinner was a sell out.

For more information about the dinner and to purchase tickets go to: